How do I pause an Assessment?

If your students are doing an assessment over multiple lessons, you might want to pause it at the end of session and resume it at the beginning of the following session. You can pause an assessment if unexpected circumstances arise while your students are sitting it too.

Locking an assessment for multiple students

Our Lock feature will pause the assessment and lock out students' access until you have chosen to unlock it and make it available again. To activate this feature, navigate to the Assessments tab of your Control Panel.

Once you have done that, find the assessment that you're after and click into the Monitor section.

Upon clicking into the Monitor section, a window should appear with the option to Lock the assessment.

You will be prompted with a confirmation question to lock everyone's access to the assessment should you want to continue.

Once you have locked the assessment, a red lock icon should appear next to all the students which the assessment was assigned to. The option to Lock the assessment will be replaced with an Unlock option. You can select this whenever you would like to make the assessment accessible again.

To unlock the assessment, you will again be prompted with the confirmation question of unlocking everyone's access, to which you can confirm. Once you have confirmed, the assessment will return to being accessible to your students.

The Lock feature will remember how long your students have already been in the assessment for. This means that when you unlock the assessment, your students will be able to return to exactly where they left off with the exact same time remaining.

Locking an assessment for an individual student

Locking an assessment for an individual student can be useful if a student is unable to complete the assessment after beginning it in class. This is especially handy if they are having technical issues. You can do this by selecting the desired student's name in the Monitor section of the assessment and then selecting the Lock feature.

You will be prompted with a confirmation question to lock the student's access to the assessment, should you want to continue.

Once you have locked the assessment for the student, the student will appear in the red Locked section. Upon these changes, the option to Lock the assessment should then turn into an Unlock option. You can select this whenever you would like to make the assessment accessible for your student again.

To unlock the assessment, you will again be prompted with the confirmation question of unlocking your student's access, to which you can confirm. Once you have confirmed, the assessment will return to being accessible for your student.